What's Hot
What's Going On

Calendar

Search thousands of events in our database.

Restaurants

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Nightlife

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Orlando Daily Deals powered by ReferLocal

OW on Twitter
OW on Facebook
Print Email

BOO 2012

Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks

Photo: N/A, License: N/A


1ST Sci-Fried, sci-friedband.com
2nd Gargamel! gargamel.net
3rd Primary Colors, facebook.com/PrimaryColorsMusic

Best Open Mic

1ST Austin's Coffee, 929 W. Fairbanks Ave., 407-975-3364, austinscoffee.com
2ND Natura Coffee & Tea, 10278 Collegiate Way, 407-482-5000
3rd The Other Bar, 18 Wall St., 407-843-8595

Best Pop Act

1ST Beebs & Her Money Makers, beebsandhermoneymakers.com
2ND Britt Daley, brittdaley.com
3rd (tie) Saskatchewan, saskatchewan.bandcamp.com
3rd (tie) Micah & the Reason, facebook.com/micahandthereason

Best Punk Act

1ST The Attack, theattack.us
2ND Awesome & the Ass Kickers, myspace.com/awesomeandtheasskickers
3rd Wet Nurse, wet-nurse.bandcamp.com

Best Reggae/Ska Act

1ST The Supervillains, thesupervillains.com
2ND Teflon Don, teflondonska.com
3rd (tie) Hor!zen, facebook.com/HorizenMusic
3rd (tie) Mystik NRG, facebook.com/mystik.nrg

Best Soul Act

1st The Legendary JC's, thejointchiefs.com
2ND Kaleigh Baker, kaleighbaker.com
3rd Shaun Rounds Blues Band, facebook.com/ShaunRounds

Best Bar (Smoking)

1ST Will's Pub, 1042 N. Mills Ave., 407-898-5070, willspub.org
2ND The Peacock Room, 1321 N. Mills Ave., 407-228-0048, thepeacockroom.com
3rd Tanquerays, 100 S. Orange Ave., 407-649-8540

Best Bar (Non-Smoking)

1ST Redlight Red Light Beer Parlour, 745 Bennett Road, 407-893-9832, redlightredlightbeerparlour.com
2ND The Imperial Wine Bar & Beer Garden, 1800 N. Orange Ave., 407-228-4992, imperialwinebar.com
3rd (tie) Oblivion Taproom, 5101 E. Colonial Drive, 407-802-4800, obliviontaproom.com
3rd (tie) The Milk Bar, 2424 E. Robinson St., 407-896-4954, themilkbarorlando.com

Best Bartender

Best of Orlando 2012
  • Local Color - Reader' Picks This year's Best of Orlando issue was written, edited, tallied, combined and compiled with the blood, sweat and tears of Marcus Griggs, Holly V. Kapherr, Faiyaz Kara... | 7/18/2012
  • Local Color - Staff Picks Gracing the cover of Orlando Weekly's 2012 Best of Orlando issue is no sweat, when you're Jose Melendez. Better known as Orlando's Mr. Gold, Melendez is the... | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Reader' Picks Best adult entertainment store 1st Fairvilla Megastore, 1740 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-6005; 7631 | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Staff Picks Nameplates! Doorknockers! Gucci bamboo hoops! Cuban links, herringbones, dookie ropes! Medallions! Dog tags! Caps and grills! On strictly utilitarian... | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Reader' Picks Best Caribbean 1st Bahama Breeze, multiple locations, bahamabreeze.com 2nd Mama Millie's, 12273 University Blvd., 407-382-3570, mamamillies.com | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Staff Picks Best attention-grabber beverage Beet & green apple juice from Café 118 | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Staff Picks If you're afraid of heights, stay away: Aptly named after its striking 180-degree view of downtown Orlando, this chic sanctuary sits at the top of Amway Center's... | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks Best Club DJ 1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac 2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey 3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks Best Arts Event/Festival 1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org 2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org 3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Staff Picks Best public art that doubles as a weapon "Symphony," 1989, by Paul Marco Mennello Museum of American Art 900 East Princeton Street 407-246-4278 mennellomuseum.com If you've ever thought of an "ice knife" as the perfect murder weapon (it melts! No finger | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks Best billiards hall 1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com 2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com 3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Staff Picks First word we received about this Gaelic jumble of a sport was when Orlando Hurling Club hosted their Clash of the Ash tournament last September. | 7/18/2012
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus