What's Hot
MOST READ
What's Going On

Calendar

Search thousands of events in our database.

Restaurants

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Nightlife

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

loading...

OW on Twitter
OW on Facebook
Print Email

BOO 2012

Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks

Photo: , License: N/A


1st Wekiwa Springs State Park, 1800 Wekiwa Circle, Apopka, 407-884-2008 floridastateparks.org/wekiwasprings
2nd Rock Springs Run State Reserve, 30601 County Road 433, Sorrento, 407-884-2008, floridastateparks.org/rockspringsrun
3rd Blue Spring State Park, 2100 W. French Ave., Orange City, 386-775-3663, floridastateparks.org/bluespring

Best shooting range

1st Shoot Straight, 4700 S. U.S. Highway 17-92, Casselberry, 407-834-2242; 1349 S. Orange Blossom Trail, Apopka, 407-889-0842, shoot-straight.com
2nd East Orange Shooting Sports, 7210 Gardner St., Winter Park, 407-679-1995, eastorangess.com
3rd Oak Ridge Gun Range, 6160 S. Orange Ave., 407-857-5663, oakridgegunrange.com

Best skate park

1st Vans Skatepark, (now closed)
2nd Orlando Skate Park, 400 Festival Way, 407-898-9600, actionparkalliance.com/orlandoskatepark
3rd Midtown Skate Park, 5043 Forsyth Commerce Road, 407-440-2802, midtownskatepark.com

Best sports complex

1st RDV Sportsplex, 8701 Maitland Summit Blvd., 407-916-2442, mvpsportsclubs.com
2nd XL Soccer World, 825 Courtland St., 407-641-4791, xlsoccerworldorlando.com
3rd Amway Center, 400 W. Church St., 407-440-7000, amwaycenter.com

Best theme park ride

1st The Incredible Hulk, Islands of Adventure at Universal Orlando Resort, 1000 Universal Studios Plaza, 407-363-8000, universalorlando.com
2nd Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Islands of Adventure at Universal Orlando Resort, 1000 Universal Studios Plaza, 407-363-8000, universalorlando.com
3rd Manta, SeaWorld Orlando, 7007 SeaWorld Drive, 888-800-5447, seaworldparks.com

Best theme park

1st Islands of Adventure, Universal Orlando Resort, 1000 Universal Studios Plaza, 407-363-8000, universalorlando.com
2nd Universal Studios, Universal Orlando Resort, 1000 Universal Studios Plaza, 407-363-8000, universalorlando.com
3rd Epcot, Walt Disney World Resort, Lake Buena Vista, 407-939-6244, disneyworld.disney.go.com

Best water park

Best of Orlando 2012
  • Local Color - Reader' Picks This year's Best of Orlando issue was written, edited, tallied, combined and compiled with the blood, sweat and tears of Marcus Griggs, Holly V. Kapherr, Faiyaz Kara... | 7/18/2012
  • Local Color - Staff Picks Gracing the cover of Orlando Weekly's 2012 Best of Orlando issue is no sweat, when you're Jose Melendez. Better known as Orlando's Mr. Gold, Melendez is the... | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Reader' Picks Best adult entertainment store 1st Fairvilla Megastore, 1740 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-6005; 7631 | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Staff Picks Nameplates! Doorknockers! Gucci bamboo hoops! Cuban links, herringbones, dookie ropes! Medallions! Dog tags! Caps and grills! On strictly utilitarian... | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Reader' Picks Best Caribbean 1st Bahama Breeze, multiple locations, bahamabreeze.com 2nd Mama Millie's, 12273 University Blvd., 407-382-3570, mamamillies.com | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Staff Picks Best attention-grabber beverage Beet & green apple juice from Café 118 | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Staff Picks If you're afraid of heights, stay away: Aptly named after its striking 180-degree view of downtown Orlando, this chic sanctuary sits at the top of Amway Center's... | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks Best Club DJ 1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac 2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey 3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks Best Arts Event/Festival 1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org 2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org 3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Staff Picks Best public art that doubles as a weapon "Symphony," 1989, by Paul Marco Mennello Museum of American Art 900 East Princeton Street 407-246-4278 mennellomuseum.com If you've ever thought of an "ice knife" as the perfect murder weapon (it melts! No finger | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks Best billiards hall 1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com 2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com 3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Staff Picks First word we received about this Gaelic jumble of a sport was when Orlando Hurling Club hosted their Clash of the Ash tournament last September. | 7/18/2012
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus