What's Hot
What's Going On

Calendar

Search thousands of events in our database.

Restaurants

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Nightlife

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Orlando Daily Deals powered by ReferLocal

OW on Twitter
OW on Facebook
Print Email

BOO 2012

Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks

Photo: , License: N/A


Best billiards hall

1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com
2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com
3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations, trickshotsbilliards.com

Best city park

1st Lake Eola Park, 195 N. Rosalind Ave., 407-246-4485, cityoforlando.net
2nd Central Park, 251 S. Park Ave., Winter Park, 407-599-3334, cityofwinterpark.org
3rd Dickson Azalea Park, 100 Rosearden Drive, 407-246-2283, cityoforlando.net

Best dog park

1st Fleet Peeples Park, 2000 S. Lakemont Ave., Winter Park, 407-599-3334, cityofwinterpark.org
2nd Paw Park, 427 French Ave., Sanford, sanfordfl.gov
3rd Dr. P. Phillips Community Park, 8249 Buenavista Woods Blvd., 407-254-9045, drphillips.org

Best day trip

1st Wekiwa Springs State Park, 1800 Wekiwa Circle, Apopka, 407-884-2008, floridastateparks.org/wekiwasprings
2nd St. Augustine, ci.st-augustine.fl.us
3rd New Smyrna Beach, cityofnsb.com

Best gym

1st YMCA, multiple locations, ymcacentralflorida.com
2nd Planet Fitness, multiple locations, planetfitness.com
3rd LA Fitness, multiple locations, lafitness.com

Best ice rink

1st RDV Sportsplex Ice Den, 8701 Maitland Summit Blvd., 407-916-2550, mvpsportsclubs.com
2nd The Ice Factory of Central Florida, 2221 Partin Settlement Road, Kissimmee, 407-933-4259, icefactory.com
3rd Light Up UCF, UCF Arena Bldg., 50 N. Gemini Blvd., 407-823-6006, lightupucf.com

Best local sports team

1st Orlando Magic, orlandomagic.com
2nd Orlando City Soccer, orlandocitysoccer.com
3rd Orlando Solar Bears, orlandosolarbearshockey.com

Best sports team coach

Best of Orlando 2012
  • Local Color - Reader' Picks This year's Best of Orlando issue was written, edited, tallied, combined and compiled with the blood, sweat and tears of Marcus Griggs, Holly V. Kapherr, Faiyaz Kara... | 7/18/2012
  • Local Color - Staff Picks Gracing the cover of Orlando Weekly's 2012 Best of Orlando issue is no sweat, when you're Jose Melendez. Better known as Orlando's Mr. Gold, Melendez is the... | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Reader' Picks Best adult entertainment store 1st Fairvilla Megastore, 1740 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-6005; 7631 | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Staff Picks Nameplates! Doorknockers! Gucci bamboo hoops! Cuban links, herringbones, dookie ropes! Medallions! Dog tags! Caps and grills! On strictly utilitarian... | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Reader' Picks Best Caribbean 1st Bahama Breeze, multiple locations, bahamabreeze.com 2nd Mama Millie's, 12273 University Blvd., 407-382-3570, mamamillies.com | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Staff Picks Best attention-grabber beverage Beet & green apple juice from Café 118 | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Staff Picks If you're afraid of heights, stay away: Aptly named after its striking 180-degree view of downtown Orlando, this chic sanctuary sits at the top of Amway Center's... | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks Best Club DJ 1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac 2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey 3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks Best Arts Event/Festival 1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org 2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org 3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Staff Picks Best public art that doubles as a weapon "Symphony," 1989, by Paul Marco Mennello Museum of American Art 900 East Princeton Street 407-246-4278 mennellomuseum.com If you've ever thought of an "ice knife" as the perfect murder weapon (it melts! No finger | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks Best billiards hall 1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com 2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com 3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Staff Picks First word we received about this Gaelic jumble of a sport was when Orlando Hurling Club hosted their Clash of the Ash tournament last September. | 7/18/2012
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus