What's Hot
What's Going On

Calendar

Search thousands of events in our database.

Restaurants

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Nightlife

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

loading...

OW on Twitter
OW on Facebook
Print Email

BOO 2012

Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks

Photo: , License: N/A


1st Enzian Theater, 1300 S. Orlando Ave., Maitland, 407-629-0054, enzian.org
2nd Cobb Plaza, 155 S. Orange Ave., 407-982-5444
3rd Regal Winter Park Village, 510 N. Orlando Ave., Winter Park, 407-628-0035

Best Radio Station

1st WPRK 91.5 FM "The Voice of Rollins College," rollins.edu/wprk
2nd WTKS 104.1-FM "Real Radio," realradio.fm/main.html
3rd WXXL 106.7-FM "XL 106.7," xl1067.com/main.html

Best Dance Company

1st Orlando Ballet, orlandoballet.org
2nd Voci Dance, vocidance.org
3rd Yow Dance, yowdance.org

Best Theater Company

1st Mad Cow Theatre, 105 S. Magnolia Ave., 407-297-8788, madcowtheatre.com
2nd (tie): Orlando Shakespeare Theater, 812 E. Rollins St., 407-447-1700, orlandoshakes.org
2nd (tie): Skill Focus: Burlesque, skillfocusburlesque.com
3rd SAK Comedy Lab, 29 S. Orange Ave., 407-648-0001, sak.com

Best Theater Space

1st Lowndes Shakespeare Center, 812 E. Rollins St., 407-447-1700, orlandoshakes.org
2nd The Orlando Repertory Theatre, 1001 E. Princeton St., 407-896-7365, orlandorep.com
3rd Theater Downtown, 2113 N. Orange Ave., 407-841-0083, theatredowntown.net

Best Graffiti Wall

1st Drunken Monkey, 444 N. Bumby Ave., 407-893-4994, drunkenmonkeycoffee.com
2nd Black Chapel Tattoo, 693 N. Orange Ave., Suite 200, 407-420-9636, blackchapeltattoos.com
3rd Pho 88, 730 N. Mills Ave., 407-897-3488, pho88orlando.com

Best Mural

1st Whose Line Is It, Anyway?, Thomas Thorspecken, Mennello Museum of American Art, 900 E. Princeton St.
2nd Hideaway Mural, at Hideaway Bar, Andrew Spear, 516 Virginia Drive
3rd Elephant Mural, at Sam Flax, Andrew Spear, 1800 E. Colonial Drive

Best Public Art

1st Mills 50 utility boxes, various artists and locations, mills50.org/news/art-box-project/
2nd The SIT Project, Brendan O'Connor, various locations: thesitproject.com
3rd Light Waves, Christopher Janney, Orlando Public Library, 101 E. Central Blvd., janneysound.com/urban-musical-instruments/light-waves-orlando

Best of Orlando 2012
  • Local Color - Reader' Picks This year's Best of Orlando issue was written, edited, tallied, combined and compiled with the blood, sweat and tears of Marcus Griggs, Holly V. Kapherr, Faiyaz Kara... | 7/18/2012
  • Local Color - Staff Picks Gracing the cover of Orlando Weekly's 2012 Best of Orlando issue is no sweat, when you're Jose Melendez. Better known as Orlando's Mr. Gold, Melendez is the... | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Reader' Picks Best adult entertainment store 1st Fairvilla Megastore, 1740 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-6005; 7631 | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Staff Picks Nameplates! Doorknockers! Gucci bamboo hoops! Cuban links, herringbones, dookie ropes! Medallions! Dog tags! Caps and grills! On strictly utilitarian... | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Reader' Picks Best Caribbean 1st Bahama Breeze, multiple locations, bahamabreeze.com 2nd Mama Millie's, 12273 University Blvd., 407-382-3570, mamamillies.com | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Staff Picks Best attention-grabber beverage Beet & green apple juice from Café 118 | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Staff Picks If you're afraid of heights, stay away: Aptly named after its striking 180-degree view of downtown Orlando, this chic sanctuary sits at the top of Amway Center's... | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks Best Club DJ 1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac 2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey 3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks Best Arts Event/Festival 1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org 2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org 3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Staff Picks Best public art that doubles as a weapon "Symphony," 1989, by Paul Marco Mennello Museum of American Art 900 East Princeton Street 407-246-4278 mennellomuseum.com If you've ever thought of an "ice knife" as the perfect murder weapon (it melts! No finger | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks Best billiards hall 1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com 2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com 3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Staff Picks First word we received about this Gaelic jumble of a sport was when Orlando Hurling Club hosted their Clash of the Ash tournament last September. | 7/18/2012
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus