What's Hot
MOST READ
What's Going On

Calendar

Search thousands of events in our database.

Restaurants

Search hundreds of restaurants in our database.

Nightlife

Search hundreds of clubs in our database.

Orlando Daily Deals powered by ReferLocal

OW on Twitter
OW on Facebook
Print Email

BOO 2012

Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks

Photo: , License: N/A


Best Arts Event/Festival

1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org
2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org
3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com

Best Art Night (Recurring)

1st Orlando Museum of Art 1st Thursday, omart.org
2nd Third Thursday Gallery Hop – Downtown Arts District
3rd Blank Space Art Market (now closed)

Best Arts Advocate

1st Donna Dowless, heartartist.com
2nd Parker Sketch, parkersketch.blogspot.com
3rd Terry Olson

Best Local Artist

1st Andrew Spear, spearlife.com
2nd Thomas Thorspecken, analogartistdigitalworld
3rd Karen Russell, thedaytimedoldrums.com

Best Local Author

1st Jeff Ashton, troumandwallsh.com/jeff-ashton.htm
2nd Liz Langley, liz-langley.blogspot.com
3rd Bob Morris, bobmorris.net

Best Local Poet/Spoken Word Artist

1st Tod Caviness, @wiggystarbucks
2nd Patrick Scott Barnes, stonecrazydj.wordpress.com
3rd Curtis Meyer, facebook.com/curtismeyerwinterpark

Best Local Playwright

1st Michael Wanzie, wanzie.com
2nd Tod Kimbro, todkimbro.com
3rd Nicole Antonia Carson

Best Gallery

1st CityArts Factory, 29 S. Orange Ave., 407-648-7060, http://www.orlandoslice.com/group/cityartsfactory
2nd Twelve21 Gallery, 1221-C N. Orange Ave., 407-982-4357, twelve21gallery.com
3rd Mother Falcon/The Falcon Bar, 819 E. Washington St., 407-423-3060, motherfalconclothing.com

Best Museum

1st Orlando Museum of Art, 2416 N. Mills Ave., 407-896-4231, omart.org
2nd Morse Museum, 445 North Park Ave., Winter Park, 407-645-5311, morsemuseum.org
3rd Orlando Science Center, 777 E. Princeton St., 407-514-2000, osc.org

Best Movie Theater

Best of Orlando 2012
  • Local Color - Reader' Picks This year's Best of Orlando issue was written, edited, tallied, combined and compiled with the blood, sweat and tears of Marcus Griggs, Holly V. Kapherr, Faiyaz Kara... | 7/18/2012
  • Local Color - Staff Picks Gracing the cover of Orlando Weekly's 2012 Best of Orlando issue is no sweat, when you're Jose Melendez. Better known as Orlando's Mr. Gold, Melendez is the... | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Reader' Picks Best adult entertainment store 1st Fairvilla Megastore, 1740 N. Orange Blossom Trail, 407-425-6005; 7631 | 7/18/2012
  • Goods & Services - Staff Picks Nameplates! Doorknockers! Gucci bamboo hoops! Cuban links, herringbones, dookie ropes! Medallions! Dog tags! Caps and grills! On strictly utilitarian... | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Reader' Picks Best Caribbean 1st Bahama Breeze, multiple locations, bahamabreeze.com 2nd Mama Millie's, 12273 University Blvd., 407-382-3570, mamamillies.com | 7/18/2012
  • Food & Drink - Staff Picks Best attention-grabber beverage Beet & green apple juice from Café 118 | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Staff Picks If you're afraid of heights, stay away: Aptly named after its striking 180-degree view of downtown Orlando, this chic sanctuary sits at the top of Amway Center's... | 7/18/2012
  • Music & Nightlife - Reader' Picks Best Club DJ 1ST Baby Lac, @djbabylac 2ND Lemy Currey, facebook.com/lemycurrey 3rd Jimmy Joslin, facebook.com/JimmyJoslin | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Reader' Picks Best Arts Event/Festival 1st The Orlando International Fringe Theater Festival, orlandofringe.org 2nd Winter Park Sidewalk Art Festival, wpsaf.org 3rd Nude Nite Art Exposé, nudenite.com | 7/18/2012
  • Arts & Culture - Staff Picks Best public art that doubles as a weapon "Symphony," 1989, by Paul Marco Mennello Museum of American Art 900 East Princeton Street 407-246-4278 mennellomuseum.com If you've ever thought of an "ice knife" as the perfect murder weapon (it melts! No finger | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Reader' Picks Best billiards hall 1st Sportstown Billiards, 2414 E. Robinson St., 407-894-6258, sportstownbilliards.com 2nd Cue-Phoria Billiards and Café, 2050 Semoran Blvd., Winter Park, 321-972-1867, cuephoria.com 3rd Trick Shots Billiards, multiple locations | 7/18/2012
  • Sports & Recreation - Staff Picks First word we received about this Gaelic jumble of a sport was when Orlando Hurling Club hosted their Clash of the Ash tournament last September. | 7/18/2012
We welcome user discussion on our site, under the following guidelines:

To comment you must first create a profile and sign-in with a verified DISQUS account or social network ID. Sign up here.

Comments in violation of the rules will be denied, and repeat violators will be banned. Please help police the community by flagging offensive comments for our moderators to review. By posting a comment, you agree to our full terms and conditions. Click here to read terms and conditions.
comments powered by Disqus